Saint's Retreat, formerly known as "Sleepy Hollow", was a large farm of local renown located just north of Ocean Springs, MS, fronting on the Ocean Springs/Vancleave Road and backed by Fort Bayou. Inhabited for more than 150 years, the property was owned by the Van Winkle family in the 1940's, and consisted of a dairy farm, timber & naval stores operation, pecan orchards, large vineyards, and a stud farm. The old barn, milk processing shed, tenant cottages and stable still remain on the site.
About 1948 Colonel and Mrs. St. John bought Sleepy Hollow, then consisting of forty-two acres. They tore down the old farm house to build a unique structure modeled on a Bavarian hunting lodge.
This wonderful home, topped by a functioning cupola with a magnificent bay window at its main entrance, is centered upon a great room which is 29 ft. high with exposed beams. There are two functioning fireplaces, three rooms which open to the side of the great hall, three baths, a large and small kitchen, a dining room, and a screened porch. It is now owned by Hema Denham, who has lovingly restored this property. The house features oriental carpets, wall hangings, original artwork and a grand piano once owned by Margaret St. John.
All rooms are offered to use at one reasonable price.